top of page

A New Kingdom

Updated: Sep 11, 2021

Welcome to a new kingdom categorized by an exalted throne, an unusually unique crown, and a loving King! I for one have been to other kingdoms (one of which I'll be sharing today) and have found none as beautiful as this...


June 2019 I began a much more committed natural hair journey after blaming my stunted hair growth on lack of dedication and commitment, poor hair routines, and misinformation about the natural hair. I spent so much more time on amazon, naturallycurly, and several natural hair hashtags and accounts on Instagram. I began to familiarize and define myself with the curly girl terms - porosity, density, curl type - until I owned an identity in this #naturalhairgoals or as I'll refer to it "kingdom". It's an extremely beautiful kingdom on the outside with a display of queens as generals who have worn their natural hair crown with pride. They inspired me to one day wear my crown as beautifully as they did.

By August 2020, I had made so much progress in the knowledge of my natural hair but I had also spent a lot of money on hair products and subscriptions. I had spent countless sleepless nights either researching or trying out hairstyles. My hair had still not grown AT ALL. It was the exact same🤦🏽‍♀️ and honestly? I was tired. I could have just given up, right?...but I couldn't. I hoped for something - to wear my crown in style.


On the 12th of August, I met a young man who in his time refused to worry about a crown as this. He spoke with so much confidence and authority of the futility in my journey, not in a harsh manner but with love and sincerity that may hurt. He recounted his experience growing up in high school and the struggle of most teenage boys to grow beards on time. He said "people were desperate and they'd do anything for it. I wanted it too, badly I must confess but it was not worth as much as it costs". I asked him why he thought so, and he replied saying "I imagined myself 10 - 15 years from that time. If I did or did not join my peers in fulfilling the #beardgoals then, we'd both have beards in 15years regardless. I could have either stressed it out in my teenage years or ignored it only to realize 15years later or less that I too have beards. From there, making my decision was easy. I chose what Christ will choose".


Well, well... glad to tell you I chose what Christ will choose that day too and that this amazing young man is my brother🥰🤍 Read scripture below:

Matthew 6:25-33:25"Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? 28"And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you-you of little faith? 31So do not worry, saying, 'What shall we eat?' or 'What shall we drink?' or 'What shall we wear?' 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.


So yes, I embraced a new kingdom, a new crown, and a new ruler :) The new kingdom is that of Jesus Christ, the son of God. My crown is no longer perishable and powerless but eternal and it attracts all other smaller crowns in my father's will; including the natural hair crown. My king is my God, a ruler but a deep lover too! Always showing perfect examples of how things are done in our kingdom. I hope you now understand why I said I've tried some other kingdoms but have found none as beautiful as the Lord's❤


Main Lesson

~ Crowns signify honor, glory, and power; and while there are so many of them you could chase after, seek the crown of life (James 1:12) in other words seek to love God and His kingdom and every other crown you so desire will be given to you as well (Matthew 6:33)


Thank you all for reading this week's blog from Moyo. Welcome here, if you're new and I sincerely hope to see you next time!👋🏽


38 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ABOUT US

On this blog, you can bank on God to send you a word through my personal life experience or through creative stories God will carve out just for you! Together we can all learn to trust Him to feed us with the Living Word. 

 

We're SUPER excited to see God trust us with passing across a timely message to you, friend!!

Untitled design (2).png

Do not allow yourself to be a victim of the satanic price tag. Arise, and engage all the spiritual arsenals available to believers in Christ Jesus.

Spiritual Price Tags is now on Amazon!

S&L.png

A community of Christian bloggers to support you in your unique journey as a blogger!

Count me in!

bottom of page