top of page

Pressured to Speak?

Updated: Oct 9, 2021

There's a young lady I know of; she's extremely passionate about things dear to her heart and she wastes no second expressing them in their fullness. Her life is quite busy too and maybe her heart crowded. Every exciting experience erupts within her like fire waiting to receive a spotlight (not for her sake really) but to the glory of God and for the edification of man. I paid this amazing lady a visit this past week with an expectation of receiving from her but for the first time, she was SILENT. So I asked her why she's silent today and she responded saying "there's no pressure to speak right?"


I was not sure what she meant by that then, so I did not respond. However, today, after meditating on those words it finally became clear that the Lord did not intend for us to utter all that is on our minds as fools do; but that we keep some in until afterwards; and this is wisdom (Prov. 29:11). Why then do our raging passions seek to be expressed always? After pondering on this, I'd like to share with you some of the pressures we (Christians) face that forces us to speak so expressively. The first is from within (or from the inside); and the second from without (or from the outside).


From Within [From the Inside]

~ I believe there is a pressure that arises from within us to speak which is common to the yet-to-mature Christians. According to the word of God in Luke 6:45, we know that out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. It is safe therefore to say that many Christians in an attempt to show-off the meditations of their heart or rather, out of pressure to prove to others the condition of their heart, they speak. A typical example is when the topic of "carnality" is raised amongst brethren. Many would rather dig up sermons they've heard years ago on the topic than admitting that their heart is not rich with God's word concerning this topic. Some others who are aware that they are carnal and have been actively hearing bible teachings on how to be more inclined to the spirit would share those messages like they simply stumbled on them and it's not applicable to them. All of these speeches just to prove they are not carnal Christians.


Oh, it doesn't end there friends. There's even more pressure to speak from within when you wish to become that which you speak of. I'm familiar with the illusion of truth effect "the tendency to believe a lie after repeating it severally". It's not the same in our Kingdom brethren! Lies are lies and can never truly be true until we cause change from the inside by Faith through prayers, and the scripture.

Of a truth, I've been here before. When I just got to college and realized there are so many types of people that could mislead me. I spoke clearly of the truth I had spent my whole life learning in order to protect myself. I also did this to carve for myself the perfect Christian girl experience which included securing godly friends who shared my belief, who loved the presence of God as much as I desired to. The truth is that since it was not my reality yet but only a desire, I couldn't get all I envisioned. Professing those words did the barest minimum, often times without power and life but at least it chased away complete unbelievers. That's understandable because at least I believed too.


What exactly are you saying, Moyo? I'm saying there's no need to preach what does not yet work in your life. Instead of sharing that truth that is not true for you, feed on it till it becomes your truth, keep it in the midst of thine heart until it brings you life and till it supplies healing to your flesh (Proverbs 4:21-22 paraphrased). And the life that it gives you will be the light of men🎇


Thank you so much for stopping by today🥰❤. I will address the second pressure which is from without (or from the outside) in my next blog post so stay tuned! Also, faithful readers my finals are here...so your girl got a lot of studying to do! I will be unable to post next week Monday (12/14) but I will be back after finals with more!


See ya in 2weeks, and keep praying for me,

Moyo.


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ABOUT US

On this blog, you can bank on God to send you a word through my personal life experience or through creative stories God will carve out just for you! Together we can all learn to trust Him to feed us with the Living Word. 

 

We're SUPER excited to see God trust us with passing across a timely message to you, friend!!

Untitled design (2).png

Do not allow yourself to be a victim of the satanic price tag. Arise, and engage all the spiritual arsenals available to believers in Christ Jesus.

Spiritual Price Tags is now on Amazon!

S&L.png

A community of Christian bloggers to support you in your unique journey as a blogger!

Count me in!

bottom of page